My Shoes

January’s blog posts are about favorites. So I guess I’ll do my post on my favorite pair of shoes.

My favorite pair of shoes are the ones that I currently wear. What pair of shoes that I currently wear are Nike Air Force 1 High ’07 . I got them off of their website after hours of digging through menus. These are the ones that I talk about in “Seeing What’s Next.” They are black on the leather, white on the part that divides the bottom and the leather, and brown on the bottom of the shoe. I like these because they are durable and will last a long time. Plus, they are pretty resistant to water.

I got these as an early Christmas present from mom. It was nice of her to get them for me, as I was previously wearing Adidas shoes and they were not fitting my feet well as I have very long, flat feet. Much like a penguin’s foot. Because of this, standing in place is very difficult for me as I cannot distribute the weight of my body perfectly on my feet when I wear shoes. So if you often see me moving around, it’s so that I don’t hurt my feet and legs too much by resisting the full weight of my body.

And, for once, I’m proud of the shoes I wear. It’s sporty enough for me to get noticed for shoe game (this actually matters quite a bit to me, I am a lowkey fan of fashion.) It complements the clothing I wear, since you’ll see me wear darker colors no matter the time of the year. It’s affordable to the point where I don’t destroy myself over some foot armor.

Overall, I’m happy with them. Hopefully they will last me more than a year. I move a lot and when I wear a pair of shoes, I only wear that pair of shoes. And I will wear them anywhere and for anything. I didn’t grow up with many pairs of shoes, and only wore the same pair of shoes until I outgrew them or until I destroyed them.

Actually, there is more. I was made fun of in school for wearing shoes that were “no named” shoes, as in they didn’t have any commercial branding with them. I remember being ridiculed by so many people for it. And at first I dealt with it, until all that people said to me was that I was “poor” since I couldn’t afford good shoes. I begged my parents to get me shoes that were “name brand,” but had to compromise for the price since my family isn’t the most financially stable.

Working and getting my own money makes me very appreciative for the sacrifices that my family went through for not only me, but for my brother as well. Luckily for me, I have the liberty of paying for my car, college, and credit card. So any purchase I make has to be wise and for the greater good, and not for some want, but a need. Not to say that I don’t own wants, *Air Pods that could have easily been headphones,* but I learned from my bad spending habits… mostly. I know that I have a lot to do and need to be humble with my decision making because I’m starting to make decisions and spending not only for me, but for my girlfriend, Elizabeth, and anyone who I’m with as well.

-J.E.

Leave a comment